Train 1: Hong Kong to Beijing

23h 58m

I lost my pen, probably in Sydney Airport. I don’t usually lose things, so I’m glad that’s all I couldn’t find as I repacked my bags early yesterday.

20150317-IMG_0893

As fate would have it Gabi and I stopped past City University’s convenience store on our stroll back from lunch. They stocked pens identical to the one I lost, so I bought two. One for each hand, if the need arose.

20150318-IMG_0903

It was a hectic week in my second home, there was rarely a dull moment as we jumped from dim sum to dimly lit bar, through the jungles, urban and natural. This, needless to say, excluded our mandatory afternoon naps.

20150318-IMG_0913

All the events culminated in won ton noodle soup for lunch with Gloria and Robbin in Hung Hom. We chatted and they helped my shop for train essentials, remembering all but one item, chopsticks.

20150318-IMG_0905

I had intended to write about my first train encounter while eating dinner, but that was impossible, as the instant noodles floating in boiling water infront of me could be retrieved by nothing else but the two pens I purchased yesterday, fashioned like the chopsticks I had forgotten.

20150317-IMG_0900

If this is the greatest challenge of this trip I’ll be very surprised. I can only hope my resourcefulness will come to my aid once more.

20150319-IMG_0915

Its the next morning now. The end of this train ride feels very different to the start. It’s as if last week in Hong Kong wasn’t even a trip, I had not fully adopted the travel mindset, it felt very much like I was going home in a few days.

20150319-IMG_0917

Now, twenty-fours hours away by train it’s seems different, I feel slightly more prepared for this trans-continental train journey further from home than I’ve been before.

20150319-IMG_0921

Stop!

