complete separation of states

Foreword: I’m on caffeine. I feel that it’s relevant to say so. I don’t drink too much coffee these days. I’m a tea man, you see. And since being here I feel like my tongue isn’t big enough to taste all these eastern blends. I’ll take it one step at a time. Alphabetical perhaps: black, green, oolong, red then white. Ah, hold up a second, how do a alphabetise 中国绿茶?Oh, almost forgot. That’s why I’m drinking coffee today.

Okay, so I’ve just exhausted my vocabulary on a foreword that isn’t what I wanted to write about, but I suspect it may relevant to the topic. Hear me out.

More and more recently, I feel my life exists separate to reality. Right now, for instance, I’m in the library on campus, on a public holiday. Based on current trends its seems that they are the only days I spend here. I certainly don’t visit this windowless dungeon as part of my normal routine. But the extended Easter/Qing Ming Festival (aka Chinese Ancestor’s Day) holiday has seen me visiting the library 5 out of the last 6 (working) days and producing some 5000 words. I’ve outdone myself, truly. You can compliment me in the comment section.

All this work, has helped me to understand the value of days off. I have a friend, who shall remain nameless, that recognises this fact for a different reason, vis a vis partying so hard last Friday that they didn’t wake up until Sunday. That, however, is a story for another day. That’s not to say its irrelevant to my point.

Everything that is happening has a unique individual domain that I cannot reconcile in my head. Things that are happening now or which have happened at one stage or another seem weirdly ridiculous and effectively impossible when side by side, like alternative universes that I somehow transcend with alcohol or caffeine or by library card. How many persons can one people be? (Without needing to see a doctor, that is.)

The only thing that these people and universes have in common is that they exist together right here in the form of a written hyperbole of my life that can’t really be that interesting. Can it?

I’m not sure how the ‘tea’ metaphor was relevant to my tale. Take from it what you will.

Stop!

