lessons in 普通话

Taiwan is the most delicious country I think I’ve been to, if only I knew what to order. On the first night I sat down in a restaurant, no English anywhere, but why would they? They don’t see western tourists in this place like you’d find if you travelled farther south in Asia.

So, I have two approaches depending on how adventurous I’m feeling, about a year worth of Mandarin class has yield me at least that much. I could ask for 牛肉面, a safe, classic dish. But its my first night, naturally I’m keen to indulge in the culture, starting with my dinner. I ask, “你喜欢什么?” While pointing at the menu. “这个jfgvlascmhucfh!” She replies. “好,我想一个.” The phrase that defined the rest of my trip.

It came out about 5 minutes later, it’s not bad. Actually, one of the nicest seaweed soups I’ve had. In retrospect, much nicer that the pig’s ear I savoured later that week.

Taiwan was my first solo trip, not that you’d expect any trip to be completely solo, just that sometimes you don’t know anyone when you arrive.

Stop!

